mentoring program

Asset 9@2x.png

OUR 2020 MENTORS: Lottie Consalvo, Jane Landa, Nigel Milsom, Kara Wood, Virginia Cuppaidge, Dan Nelson and Pablo Tapia.

Picture: Max Mason-Huber as appeared in Newcastle Herald article by Phoebe Moloney, OCTOBER 6 2019.

The 2021 Newcastle Art Space Mentoring Program will open for applications soon!


We are reviewing the successes of our 2020 pilot and confirming mentors for the 2021-2022 program.

The basics:

  • The program will see emerging artists apply to be mentored for one year.

  • There is no cost associated with the program.

  • The program is competitive. Applicants will need to complete an expression of interest to participate. 

Who is eligible?

  • Applicants must be emerging artists in the first five years of their art practice residing within the Hunter Region.

  • Applicants must be older than 18.

  • There is no upper age limit.  

  • Fields of practice on offer in 2021-2022 will be published when the program opens. 

What is involved in the Mentorship?
The successful applicant will be paired with their preferred established art practitioner for one year. The nature of the mentorship is up to each individual mentor. It is an opportunity for skills, knowledge and experience to be passed from a practising and established artist to an emerging artist. The mentee is expected to meet with their mentors once a month.

How do I apply?
Your expression of interest (EOI) should contain the following as separate documents. Each image should be attached to your email as a jpeg and not embedded into a Word or PDF document:​

  • A brief biography, including achievements, attached by email as a document, or delivered in person as a document.

  • Photos of samples of your work with your name clearly marked in the file name,
    attached to email as a jpeg.


  • A letter explaining your work and nominating the field of practice in which you would like to be mentored in and your preferred mentor(s) from the 2021-2022 mentor cohort. The letter should contain contact information, including email and phone number and be attached to your email as a separate document.

  • Your letter should also tell us why you feel you will benefit from mentoring and what you would hope to achieve over the course of the 12 months, attached as a separate document.

Applications that do not follow the above instructions will be culled from the selection process. 

The selection process will again be conducted at arms-length from Newcastle Art Space. 

All EOIs should be emailed to


  • Attach your images separately as jpegs (resolution of 1-2MBs).

  • EOIs should be in the format of Word Doc or PDF.  

  • Dates for the 2021-2022 program are yet to be announced.  

How does the application process work?
Based on the expression of interest, and the field of practice, Newcastle Art Space will shortlist applicants to match with their preferred mentor(s). From the shortlist, each mentor will have the opportunity to set up an interview with potential mentees. The final decision on who is accepted into the program is held by the mentor. 

KEY DATES for 2021
Applications open: TBA
Applications close: TBA
Interviews held: TBA
Applicants notified: TBA
Mentorship commences: TBA